Banner Viadrina

Master of International Human Rights and Humanitarian Law - LLM


logo_ihl ©Grafikfirma Giraffe

Master of International Human Rights and Humanitarian Law

The teaching staff consists of members of the Faculty of Law, Viadrina European University, and other partner Universities as well as lawyers in professional practice:


Dr. Ulrike Brandl, Institute for International Law and International Organisations, University of Salzburg
Moritz Birk, Ludwig Boltzmann Institute of Human Rights


Prof. Dr. Hans-Joachim Heintze, Institute for International Law of Peace and Armed Conflict, Bochum
Prof. Dr. Wolff Heintschel von Heinegg, Viadrina European University Frankfurt (Oder)
Prof. Gerard C. Rowe, Viadrina European University Frankfurt (Oder)
Prof. Dr. Carmen Thiele, Viadrina European University Frankfurt (Oder)
Dr. Robert Frau, Viadrina European University Frankfurt (Oder) >Dr Martin Wählisch is an associate of our MENA Programme and is currently serving as a Political Affairs Officer in the Office of the Special Coordinator for Lebanon (UNSCOL)


Dr Agata Hauser, Adam Miskiewicz University      


Prof. Dr. Daniel García San José, Universidad de Sevilla
Prof. Dr. Pablo Pareja Alcaraz, Universitat Pompeu Fabra                                       

United Kingdom

Dr. Anel Marais, University of Wales, Aberystwyth
Prof. Dr. Ryszard Piotrowicz, University of Wales, Aberystwyth
Dr. Olga Jurasz, Open University Law School

The United States of America

Bernard Dougherty, German Red Cross

Admission Board

Prof Dr Wolff Heintschel von Heinegg (Chair), Prof Gerard C. Rowe,  Prof Dr Carsten Nowak,  David Ligocki, Sarah Cellamaro (student representative)

Academic Board

Prof Gerard C. Rowe (Chair), Prof Dr Carmen Thiele, Prof Dr Wolff Heintschel von Heinegg 

Examination Board

Prof Dr Carmen Thiele (Chair), Prof Dr Heintschel von Heinegg, Prof. Dr. Ulla Gläßer, LL.M., Dr Robert Frau, Anna Szarek Mag. iur.